Smartphones and being phone-smart

In this day and age where we are growing up in a ‘new media world’ we need to be more phone-smart than ever.

privacy-risk-sign

The majority of teenagers and young-adults own a smartphone. Most of us also rely upon our smartphones on a daily basis, it’s basically our lives, but I wonder how many of you have actually questioned whether your smartphone is actually your friend or foe?

  • How safe is your smartphone?

This question is one that has been asked since way back in 2011 and since then it’s become a hot topic, especially with the rapid development of technology. It’s important that we educate ourselves on the issue of privacy so that we can inform those younger than us of the potential risks and dangers also.

smartphone-iphone-attack-vector-threats

“You can extract enough information on a typical person’s phone that you can construct a virtual clone of that individual,” said Elad Yoran, executive chairman of Koolspan Inc., a communications security company. “They are the windows not just into our personal lives but they are equally the windows into our professional lives.”   –>

If we think about it, our phones have embarrassing selfies stored on them,  saved passwords from our internet browsing and all our phone contacts and text messages stored on them. This quotation is scarily true and I think that is something that this module has encouraged me to explore more into. I think it’s important that we take more time to check just what information we’re feeding our phones and ask ourselves whether it’s necessary – will this impact my future in a negative way?  

 

 

5 Comments

  1. the idea that the information on someone’s phone can make a virtual clone of the individual is very interesting. It makes sense because we spend so much time doing all kinds of things on our mobiles, the pictures we saved in the gallery alone could reveal a large part of our daily lives. But I do believe that smartphone companies have noticed that and they’re making efforts to improve protection of privacy, like for example now iPhones have fingerprint identification instead of just entering passwords.

    Like

  2. I think you make some really interesting points here. I’d considered privacy within social media before but not necessarily questioned the use of my phone and the information I store on it, on a larger scale. As you mentioned, it can probably tell more about our lives than anything else we own. I know that I previously stored account details on my phone as a reminder in case I forgot, until I was warned about how unsafe this was so removed them.

    I guess this can only be potentially dangerous when the information lands in the wrong hands. After all, this is why Apple were against assisting the FBI in unlocking the San Bernardino shooter’s phone, at the risk of compromising millions of other user’s security.

    Like

  3. I ask myself that question whether things on my phone will impact me in a negative way quite a lot, especially when it comes to photos ect…Im not sure about you but personally I don’t save my passwords on my phone incase someone gets into it and reads it, I try to memorise all my passwords which can be tricky sometimes; especially when it comes to important passwords like online banking.

    Like

  4. I thought the points you made here were very good and thought provoking. Whilst I knew I was attached to my phone, I didn’t really recognise that at the same time, my phone records almost all information about me, from my location to my bank details and even my fingerprint… This is a scary idea as if my phone was stolen, I’d be giving someone all my details in one device.

    Like

  5. I think you’ve made a really good point here backed up with actual evidence to support that the devices we are so reliant upon may also be enough to serious harm us!
    With so much information on our phones -even down to our location- we all need to take precautions to protect our safety whilst simultaneously enjoying such intelligent and powerful technology!

    Like

Leave a Reply

