Are You LinkedIn or Left Out?

Have you ever thought to yourself ‘How am I going to get a job after university?’ or laid awake at night stressing about the £27,000 worth of debt you’ll have at the end of your course? I know I have and being told that  16 – 24 year olds are nearly three times more likely to be unemployed than the rest of the population does not make me feel anymore optimistic either.

As a highly organised individual I try to plan everything I possibly can. This can range from my finances to itineraries for my holidays, this also includes how to get the career I’ve always wanted to make all of that debt seem worthwhile.

What better way to understand how to get the perfect job title than seeing how those who already have that title got to where they are today!

This is where LinkedIn comes in, as a site that allows users to upload their CVs and interact with others they work with it has created a giant community of employees from all industries. By typing in a company you can see all of their job titles and employees (providing they have a LinkedIn account, most industry experts do). This way you can located your dream job and see where that person went to university, where they interned at and how long it took them to get that director position.

This is all well and good until LinkedIn begins to see how frequently you’re using the site and start to block certain content. So instead of seeing where that director did their first internship you are greeted by this message:

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 21.43.38

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 21.44.33

As highly organised and dedicated to getting my dream job as I am, I am also a student paying over £9,000 a year for an education that will hopefully give me an advantage over other applicants when I go for that job. It’s highly unlikely our university will pay for our premium LinkedIn accounts, but surely we should be given as much industry help as possible considering the amount of money we pay?

Rachel-come-on.gif

Leave a Reply

