Online privacy? As if.

As cringe as this is, I have a very active social media presence.

When you google me, the first line is literally all me. (except for the small chinese woman far right)

The first and second are photos from the horribly embarrassing twitter account I created in 6th grade, the third is my friend, the forth and fifth is from my current twitter.

When you search on google, you can find my facebook profile which is pretty private, my soundcloud, instagram, and my university wordpress. After the lectures last week, its scary to see how visible I am from a simple search on Google. People can see me on Google based on profile photos that were posted years ago.Privacy settings on websites are becoming stricter, but its not possible to ever know how much a site knows about you. Through famous alclgarhytms sites can actually predict how we are feeling, doing, and what we are interested in.

 

I guess it really is true, what goes up on the internet never does come off.

5 Comments

  1. I completely agree that there really is an element of fear concerned with our online visibility. It’s also a highly valid point that online servers know more than just what we post but also what we click on. Cookies have really exploited our use of the internet by targeting adverts at us that we may not necessarily want to see. Cookies can be really useful to highlight sites that you are interested in but they can also be irritating; clutter your page from what you actually want to view; and potentially damaging, for instance, a recovering gambler may see adverts for gambling sites due to high activity on sites similar to those.

    Like

  2. It’s interesting how you’ve stated that what goes on the internet never comes off – I’ve never thought of online visibility with that perspective. Having thought about it a little more as a result of your comment, I think what we’re all most scared about is how permanent our online-presence actually is. In the moment, we don’t care who views our selfies or group photos on a night out, however, 10 years down the line, would we still want those sort of images to be accessible to the world? Probably not…

    Like

  3. It’s really interesting that you are the first search results for your name, because of how active on social media you are. I think of my social media presence as fairly limited and private. However, my Instagram, Twitter and WordPress usernames are all the same; while the name is actually something reasonably obscure from Greek mythology, because it’s obscure the my social media accounts generally come up in the first page of search results if you search it. So, I might have reasonably private settings but if you’re searching for Greek mythological twins you might actually find me instead.

    Like

  4. This is true and very scary! Even if you tighten your privacy settings to ensure no information is given away, it seems there is only so much we can do. As you mentioned about the algorithms, we give information away sometimes without even noticing. Facebook asks us how we’re feeling, we write a status and the next thing you know, we’re getting adverts for a particular restaurant or dress etc. simply because we mentioned that. By using and interacting with social media, we already commit to giving access to a certain amount of information about ourselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

