How visible am I on the Internet?

When you google my name there are hundreds of thousands of results and unsurprisingly, I am not the top match. I’m not famous and I’ve never done anything exciting enough to warrant my own Wikipedia page. However, when you go onto Google Images, if you scroll down enough you will find a profile picture of me from around two years ago, pixie haircut and all.

google search

There I am on my 18th birthday about to do a shot – maybe not a good first impression for future employers?

In terms of my social media, on Facebook my posts are only visible to my ‘friends’ however these include people from primary school who I haven’t seen in over a decade. It’s fair to say I’m unsure if I can trust them with my information. In my about page I have my phone number and birthday, so far I haven’t received any unsolicited texts so I feel like this is a feature most people ignore.

blog.jpg

My instagram has no information about me apart from maybe evidence that I drink far too much.

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 12.35.09.png

I think the most disturbing thing I found was on a website 192.com. From this I found my whole name and part of my address; however this website got my details from the electoral register, something that I never think about in terms of privacy. You do have to sign into the site to see more details but this is what I found the most worrying, which is surprising considering how open I am on social media.

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 12.34.18.png

3 Comments

  1. First, I just wanted to say you did a great job analysing your social media profiles; had a bit of a giggle.
    But on a serious note, your comment on having ”friends” on your friend list did make me think; maybe I should go through my list and get rid of those whom I’ve never spoken to yet accepted them just to get more people on ”friends” section (back then it was worth bragging about)? Your friendly ”friends” might not be that friendly after all and have some intentions you wouldn’t even think of.

    Like

  2. That’s one of the things I worry about on social media, my old home address getting online where my family live, but the same thing happened with my friend about her harrow halls address being on the exact same website which is something that you don’t think about. Overall this is a really good blog post and was entertaining to read, I like how you mentioned about ‘friends’ on Facebook because over the years you forget who you actually have on your friends list and who can actually see your posts.

    Like

  3. This is a really good overview of your social media accounts. We always think of protecting our privacy from outsiders but I know I have accepted a friend request (especially at Uni) based on shared mutual friends even though I don’t know the person. Reading your post about the website 192.com, I found my full name with the name of my family members. It’s scary that if someone pays a price for a premium account, they can find out your personal information such as an address.

    Like

Leave a Reply

